View Full Version : All help appreciated

smiley1076
August 08, 2006, 06:22 PM
Hi,

I just got hired as an elementary school Spanish teacher at a private school. I applied for another position but they offered me the Spanish teacher position. It's been over a year since I graduated from college, and I needed a teaching position to start my career so I took it. I took Spanish I and II in both high school and college. I have an elementary level Spanish vocabulary, but I'm far from fluent. I cannot carry a conversation with a Spanish person, so I'm very worried about the Spanish teachers, parents, and students. The principal knows I'm not fluent and she thought I would do ok, but now I'm wondering what I was thinking. I'm beginning conversational Spanish classes next Tuesday, but it's sort of like starting from scratch. I need as much help as I can get.

RhiannonMari
August 09, 2006, 08:11 AM
wow!!! when i saw your post in the only in spanish thread i was thinkin to myself, why would she be teaching spanish in any grade if she didn't know it very well?!!? but now i understand. well... the basics are simple enough to remember, tho conversational spanish is tricky..... i'm trying to learn the conversational skills myself. i'll try to help in any way i can and perhaps in doing so i will learn more myself! *smiles*

sosia
August 09, 2006, 09:48 AM
it depends on the level. The basics are still the basics, and your goal its to teach spanish at a elementary. So took the books, explain the basics and in the meantime try to improve yout spanish.
Good luck.

RhiannonMari
August 09, 2006, 09:56 AM