View Full Version : Latin American and European Spanish

Dodge
May 18, 2009, 03:49 PM
Hi, I was wondering if there was any difference at all between how Spanish is spoken in the Americas and how it's spoken in Spain. I'm a beginner to the language and want to learn it because I'll be moving to Texas soon. I have the new Rosetta Stone Latin American Spanish, but I've read that while learning while using a program like that to immerse yourself in the language, so I've came across websites that stream Spanish radio from Spain. It looks and sounds the same to me since I'm a beginner, but I can't be too sure, so I was wondering from any of you that know the language well if there was any difference at all. Thanks!

Rusty
May 18, 2009, 04:04 PM
There are a number of differences between the Spanish spoken in Spain and the Spanish spoken in Mexico (and even more in Texas). If you are familiar with the accent and vocabulary differences between American and British English, there are just as many of the same kind of differences between the Spanish spoken in Mexico and Spain. And, Mexican Spanish isn't like the Spanish spoken in Central or South America.
Texan Spanish has some English influence.

bobjenkins
May 18, 2009, 04:11 PM
there are some differences, yes, but you should be able to understand each dialect to a point:)

For instance spain is the only country that uses VOSOTROS in place of USTEDES
Agentina uses VOS in place of TÚ

Rusty
May 18, 2009, 04:17 PM
there are some differences, yes, but you should be able to understand each dialect to a point:)

For instance spain is the only country that uses VOSOTROS in place of USTEDES
Agentina uses VOS in place of TÚThere are many more countries than just Argentina that use vos. In Spain, they use vosotros as the plural form of tú. They also use ustedes (the plural of usted).
Spaniards can understand Mexicans, but they have to work at it just as hard as we do to understand a Brit.

bobjenkins
May 18, 2009, 04:27 PM