Spanish language learning forums

Spanish language learning forums (http://forums.tomisimo.org/index.php)
-   General Chat (http://forums.tomisimo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Advice (http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?t=12941)

duaa April 14, 2012 10:25 PM

Advice

I need advice. I recently graduated from college in December. I went to Mexico after that and was there for two months. I understood 85-90% of everything, but when it came to speaking and vocab I could only say 60% of what I wanted to say. I majored in Spanish and history and so I am feeling extremely bad. I want to improve my ability to speak the issue is I don't know how? I do practice Spanish where I am. Any advice you guys have would be great because I am feeling very discouraged.

Rusty April 14, 2012 10:47 PM

Don't feel bad or discouraged. It takes a lot of time to work up to a level of confidence with the language. Expose yourself to lots more speaking practice. Make words your own by associating them with images instead of a translation into your native tongue. You should be thinking in Spanish when conversing in Spanish.

chileno April 15, 2012 08:44 AM

Start reading out loud while recording yourself. Listen to the recording, and adjust your pronunciation and intonation according to what you think it should be, or better yet, get a novel that's narrated by a native, from the country of your choice, and start imitating what you hear, while recording yourself etc...

duaa April 15, 2012 09:28 AM

Thanks for the replies! The issue has less to do with prononciation and more to do with lack of vocab and some grammar errors. I am not sure how to fix the issue as I have taken all the classes of spanish I could at my univercity, although I have no issue taking another class at a tech college. I feel helpless as I am back at the usa where everyone speaks english. :sad:

wrholt April 15, 2012 05:54 PM