Spanish language learning forums

Spanish language learning forums (http://forums.tomisimo.org/index.php)
-   General Chat (http://forums.tomisimo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   La negra tiene tumbao (http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?t=1161)

eulandria April 22, 2008 10:47 AM

La negra tiene tumbao

I'm just beginning to learn spanish and I try to translate songs for practice learning new words. Right now I'm trying to translate Celia Cruz - La Negra Tiene tumbao and I can't figure out what it means when "-ao" is added to the end of a verb as it is done several times throughout the song. I'd appreciate any help.:)

Rusty April 22, 2008 11:04 AM

Here is the same answer I gave in your other post:

The 'ao' at the end of some of the words is simply a shortened form of 'ado,' the ending of a past participle:
encontrao = encontrado
apretao = apretado

For others, it is used as a rhyming mechanism, but happens to also be how many people pronounce the words and the spelling follows suit:
lao = lado (side - de lao = 'sideways')
melao = melado (honey color - could also mean honey and a form of speaking or language)

Tumbao is the name of the rhythm used in the song and isn't a shortened form of any Spanish word.

Learning Spanish by translating songs will prove to be a daunting task. Songs are a mix of prose, thoughts, and obscure meanings. But, I won't try to discourage your enthusiasm for learning by whatever means works best for you.

Alfonso April 22, 2008 04:49 PM

Rusty's explanation is great. Anyway, I can't be sure, but I think tumbao is a shortened form of the past participle tumbado (lying). In Cuba is very common not to pronounce the "d" on the ending -ado, -ido. In Spain, if you are not Cuban or Andalusian, it's sounds a little vulgar, although some politicians used it, some years ago, to seem cool and popular.

Rusty April 22, 2008 08:58 PM