Spanish language learning forums

Spanish language learning forums (http://forums.tomisimo.org/index.php)
-   Vocabulary (http://forums.tomisimo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Orale, Chale (http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?t=16603)

hello123 August 05, 2013 03:04 AM

Orale, Chale

Hi I watch a lot of Mexican films and I notice that they use a lot of slangs, and one of them is Orale. I've researched about that word and it had multiple meanings but I'm still confused when that word should be used in a sentence, and what does Chale mean?

AngelicaDeAlquezar August 05, 2013 12:21 PM

"Órale" can be used to state agreement, to urge someone to do something, or to express astonishment.

-- ¿Vamos al cine? (Shall we go to the movies?)
-- Órale, es buena idea. (Sure, it's a good idea.)

-- Te invito a comer. (Come over for lunch.)
-- Órale, muchas gracias. (Great, thank you!)

-- Soy Ingeniero Químico. (I'm a chemical engineer.)
-- Ah, órale. (Oh, ok.)

-- ¡Te dije te pongas a hacer la tarea! ¡Órale!
I told you to start doing your homework! Come on!

-- ¡Camina rápido, órale!
-- Walk fast, hurry up!

-- ...y entonces el fantasma (se) desapareció. (...and then the ghost disappeared.)
-- ¡Órale(s)! ¿De veras? (Wow! Really?)

-- ¡Oooooóraless! ¡Qué carro tan padre te compraste!
(Wooooow! What a great car you bought!)

"Chale" expresses regret or disagreement.

-- No voy a ir a la fiesta. (I'm not going to the party.)
-- Chale, ¿por qué no? (Gosh, why not?)

-- Chale, mis papás no me quieren comprar un teléfono nuevo.
(Sheesh, my parents won't buy me a new phone.)

-- Chale, quería tomar clases de baile, pero no me alcanzó el dinero.
(Dang, I wanted to take dancing lessons, but I couldn't afford it.)

Glen August 06, 2013 07:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AngelicaDeAlquezar (Post 141126)
-- Chale, ¿por qué no? (Gosh, why not?)

That makes it easy to remember, because Chale sounds a lot like "Golly," another way to say "Gosh." Thanks!