Spanish language learning forums

Spanish language learning forums (http://forums.tomisimo.org/index.php)
-   Official Announcements (http://forums.tomisimo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   New Features: Automatic translator (http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?t=4182)

Tomisimo June 05, 2009 03:51 PM

Automatic translator
 
Some time ago, I tried my hand at creating a language detector. Sometimes it worked ok, sometimes not. Now, with the power of Google, I have added a new language detector/identifier/guesser to Tomisimo. In addition to the language detector, there is now a machine translator as well. Thanks go to Google for the backend to make these possible.

If you have any suggestions for improvement, please do let me know.

CrOtALiTo June 05, 2009 03:59 PM

How can I use the tool?

I have tried the software and you leave me telling you that your machine is very exact in the translations.

Good job.

bobjenkins June 05, 2009 04:27 PM

Gracias David, estoy feliz de que siempre mejoras los foros.:)

AngelicaDeAlquezar June 05, 2009 10:18 PM

:thinking: I think I might be having some incompatibility in my PC:

If I go to http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php, I can see the "Text to Translate" box but no language to choose from or to.

As for http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php?do=detect, I can type inside the "Text to Detect" box, but when I click on "Detect language" there is no action.

http://www.tomisimo.org/tools/language-identifier/ works well for me though.

irmamar June 06, 2009 07:48 AM

It works with my computer. Anyway, Catalonian is confused with Italian, but it is not important.

Jessica June 06, 2009 10:03 AM

Great idea! It will really help me :)

bobjenkins June 06, 2009 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AngelicaDeAlquezar (Post 38040)
:thinking: I think I might be having some incompatibility in my PC:

If I go to http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php, I can see the "Text to Translate" box but no language to choose from or to.

As for http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php?do=detect, I can type inside the "Text to Detect" box, but when I click on "Detect language" there is no action.

http://www.tomisimo.org/tools/language-identifier/ works well for me though.

Yo tambien:( (estoy escribiedo con mi ipod touch) Esta noche voy a probarlo en mi computadora

Tomisimo June 06, 2009 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AngelicaDeAlquezar (Post 38040)
:thinking: I think I might be having some incompatibility in my PC:

If I go to http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php, I can see the "Text to Translate" box but no language to choose from or to.

As for http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php?do=detect, I can type inside the "Text to Detect" box, but when I click on "Detect language" there is no action.

http://www.tomisimo.org/tools/language-identifier/ works well for me though.

What browser and what version are you using?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobjenkins (Post 38090)
Yo tambien:( (estoy escribiedo con mi ipod touch) Esta noche voy a probarlo en mi computadora

This tool uses Javascript, so it might not work in some browsers. Are you using Safari on your iPod touch?

bobjenkins June 07, 2009 12:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomisimo (Post 38143)
What browser and what version are you using?


This tool uses Javascript, so it might not work in some browsers. Are you using Safari on your iPod touch?

Sí;)

laepelba June 07, 2009 05:21 AM

Wow! Google rocks!! (And so do you, David - thank you SO much!!)

bobjenkins June 07, 2009 03:43 PM

Hola,
Quiero decir que probé el traductor y es buenísimo:)
gracias

AngelicaDeAlquezar June 07, 2009 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomisimo (Post 38143)
What browser and what version are you using?

I use Internet Explorer 8 and receive this errors:

Language detector:
Webpage error details
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB6; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Mon, 8 Jun 2009 02:16:58 UTC

Message: Expected identifier
Line: 55
Char: 47
Code: 0
URI: http://forums.tomisimo.org/clientscr...slate.js?v=382

Message: Expected identifier, string or number
Line: 70
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php?do=detect
Text translator:
Webpage error details
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB6; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Mon, 8 Jun 2009 02:18:27 UTC

Message: Expected identifier
Line: 55
Char: 47
Code: 0
URI: http://forums.tomisimo.org/clientscr...slate.js?v=382

Message: Expected identifier, string or number
Line: 70
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://forums.tomisimo.org/translate.php

Rusty June 07, 2009 08:59 PM

I use IE 7 and see the same problem reported by Angelica (but don't get the errors she recently posted). I can't enter the target language for the translator.

When I use Firefox, I have no problem.

CrOtALiTo June 08, 2009 08:00 AM

At least from English to Spanish translate well. And of the other one also work well.

Tomisimo June 08, 2009 11:27 AM

I will look into the problems people are having with Internet Explorer.

AngelicaDeAlquezar June 08, 2009 12:51 PM

Thank you, David. :)

Tomisimo June 11, 2009 10:03 PM

I think I have it working correctly in Internet Explorer now. Please let me know if you have any more problems.

CrOtALiTo June 11, 2009 10:46 PM

Please I have one question.

Where is the link where I can access to the machine translator.

AngelicaDeAlquezar June 12, 2009 08:44 AM

Thank you, David.

Both, the translator and the language detector, work pretty well for me now. :)

They're very useful tools. :thumbsup:

Tomisimo June 12, 2009 09:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by CrOtALiTo (Post 38609)
Where is the link where I can access to the machine translator.

Hay un enlace en la parte de arriba de la página.

Attachment 163

Quote:

Originally Posted by AngelicaDeAlquezar (Post 38632)
Thank you, David.

Both, the translator and the language detector, work pretty well for me now. :)

They're very useful tools. :thumbsup:

You're very welcome. :)

Rusty June 12, 2009 09:57 AM

I'm also able to use the translator now. Thanks a million!

CrOtALiTo June 12, 2009 10:15 AM

Oppss!!!

Tomisimo June 12, 2009 01:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rusty (Post 38644)
I'm also able to use the translator now. Thanks a million!

You're welcome.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CrOtALiTo (Post 38645)
Oppss!!!

No problem. :)

lblanco June 15, 2009 01:12 PM

WOW!!!!
I just tried the translator...great job!
David, eres un genio

Thank you for all the dedication and hard work you put into Tomisimo.

Eduardo256 February 03, 2013 10:46 AM

Tengo probado el traductor, pero yo no puede. ¿Cualquiera consejo?

AngelicaDeAlquezar February 03, 2013 11:00 AM

Desafortunadamente, el traductor no está funcionando, pero el administrador de los foros ya se encuentra trabajando en ello. Anunciaremos cuando regrese a la normalidad. :)

Unfortunately, the translator is not working, but the forums' administrator is already working on it. We will announce when it's back to normal. :)

Eduardo256 February 03, 2013 11:24 AM

Gracias por su responder!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.

Forum powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.