Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Teaching and Learning Techniques

Fluent spanish success stories?

Teaching methodology, learning techniques, linguistics-- any of the various aspect of learning or teaching a foreign language.

Old March 30, 2017, 11:25 PM
Opal

kilojay619 is on a distinguished road
Fluent spanish success stories?

Hi I would like to hear your success story about learning and becoming fluent in spanish. How long did it take? How often did you practice? Was there ever a pint you thought you would never learn the language?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old March 30, 2017, 11:53 PM
Diamond

Native Language: Spanish (Castilian, peninsular)
JPablo is on a distinguished road
Hi, Kilojay!

In my case, I learned Spanish from my mom and dad, my sisters and friends...

When I started learning English I was already 20 years old, and "necessity" made me learn. I am still in the process of acquainting myself with it, but I can read and write rather decently. (After 30 years plus of practicing and learning).

Interestingly enough, it took me just a couple of years to be able to handle the basic communication.

Like in everything, as my mother used to say, "Los primeros 100 años son los peores", ie., "the first hundred years are the worse ones". Then you get the hang of it.

What is a mere century, after all?

All kidding aside, for me, after studying French for 7 years or so, I had "given up" the possibility of learning English. But at the "tender" age of 20 I "had to" learn it.

Well, I am still making blunders here and there. But I feel like I have succeeded for the most part.

Welcome to the forums, by the way.

"See" you around!
Old March 31, 2017, 03:51 PM
Sapphire

Native Language: US English
wrholt is on a distinguished road