Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Vocabulary
Register Help/FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search PenpalsTranslator

Cinco, quince, cincuenta, quinientos

Ask about definitions or translations for Spanish or English words.

Old April 03, 2014, 09:07 AM
Opal

Native Language: English
billrow is on a distinguished road
Cinco, quince, cincuenta, quinientos

I am studying Spanish via the Pimsleur Hear-Speak method and I use Language Now V.9 for reading and pronunciation practice.

But I have a question regarding the changes in the number 5 as it goes up the ladder in size. cinco, quince, cincuenta, quinientos

Usually there's a logical or historical reason for such a sound and spelling shifts. Can anyone explain the background or reason for this?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old April 03, 2014, 02:20 PM
Emerald

Native Language: Español
Julvenzor is on a distinguished road
I'm not a expert in etimology (), but I think it's simply an issue of language pronunciation evolution:

Spanish => Latin

Cinco => quinque
Quince => quindĕcim
Cincuenta => quinquaginta
Quinientos => quingenti

Cheers!
Old April 03, 2014, 06:14 PM
Opal

Thanks for the reply, but in your example the Latin stem stayed the same and only the suffix changed. This is a much less drastic change in pronunciation that 5 undergoes in its promotion up the scale of size in Spanish.
Old April 03, 2014, 06:43 PM
Sapphire

Native Language: US English
wrholt is on a distinguished road
There are linguists who study how Spanish developed from Latin, and you might be able to find papers or books on the subject. While I've read some material on the topic, I'm no expert. Your best bet is to find a paper or book about how Latin evolved into Spanish, or perhaps studies of how the pronunciation of the specific words you're interested changed over time.