Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Vocabulary

Ordering... poder or poner? algo más?

Ask about definitions or translations for Spanish or English words.

Old April 10, 2013, 06:54 PM
Opal

kennytuggle is on a distinguished road
Ordering... poder or poner? algo más?

Hola. Soy nuevo aqui. I am a beginner still. But making progress. Thank you in advance for the assistance.

I have a question about ordering food. I’m hearing different things. And perhaps these are regional differences. But can someone pinpoint the most common way to put in an order with a waiter?

Initially I thought (with cheese as an example): “¿Puedo tener una ración de queso, por favor?”

These podcasts I’m listening to suggest: “¿Nos pone una ración de queso, por favor?”

My Spanish speaking friend hasn’t heard of the latter example. But he’s Mexican and the podcast producers are Spanish.

Is one of these options more common than the other? Am I missing the boat completely here?

Also, if I am posting this in the wrong forum, please let me know. I couldn't figure out where to post this.¿

Thank you!

-Brad

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old April 10, 2013, 08:55 PM
rule 1: gravity

Native Language: English
poli will become famous soon enoughpoli will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennytuggle View Post
Hola. Soy nuevo aqui. I am a beginner still. But making progress. Thank you in advance for the assistance.

I have a question about ordering food. I’m hearing different things. And perhaps these are regional differences. But can someone pinpoint the most common way to put in an order with a waiter?

Initially I thought (with cheese as an example): “¿Puedo tener una ración de queso, por favor?”

These podcasts I’m listening to suggest: “¿Nos pone una ración de queso, por favor?”