Old December 14, 2015, 11:04 AM
Opal

WesleyEnglish is on a distinguished road
Rosetta Stone

So I am new to Spanish. I am using Rosetta Stone. I find it very easy when I have words put in front of me to read what it says, but when it comes to speaking it in anyway I am completely clueless. Is this normal?

I took French in college for like 47 years, and I still can speak a word but I learned Masculine/Feminine and how conjugation works which has made the beginning stages of this relatively easy.

I don't know if my memory is terrible but i can read easily but if I were to have to write it down or say it i come up blank.

Is Rosetta stone even worth it?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old December 14, 2015, 11:59 AM
Diamond

Native Language: Castellano
aleCcowaN is on a distinguished road
Everything you're saying sounds pretty normal to me (except the 47 years of college )

Last Saturday I was able to give directions to a couple of English speaking tourists in downtown Buenos Aires, in a fluent and complex enough dialogue, for the first time in my life. Who reads from me here or there might find hard to believe I may have such problems to "produce" everyday English, but, you know, it's a matter of practice and being "in the trench and not the headquarters".

Many, many years ago (28 or 29, to be exact) I studied English using something like Rosetta Stone and I acquired some grasp at it. In order to write and have conversations I signed up in a language institute. They made me take a test and they found my skills were good enough for level 2 of 10! I can't express the frustration I felt. After literally hundreds and hundreds of hours studying, just level two, like a kid.