Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Practice & Homework

Escuchar y entender

Practice Spanish or English here. All replies to a thread should be in the same language as the first post.

Old March 19, 2012, 11:59 AM
Opal

Native Language: Moroccan Arabic
aycaramba is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Escuchar y entender

Okay... So I've been trying to learn Spanish for a long while, yet I don't seem to fully understand a native when he or she is speaking. This makes sense of course, since I'm still learning the language, I mean it's not that I expect myself to be fluent only after a little while. But I thought that I would've been better as I've come this far. Writing en speaking Spanish is not a problem for me though, but the listening part is really a challenge. So I wanted to ask you guys if you've any idea how I could possibly improve my listening skills? I kind of understand people when they're talking, but not always and it's getting very annoying... So should I watch more Spanish movies/news or are there plenty of other ways?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old March 19, 2012, 12:49 PM
Señor Speedy

Native Language: American English
Rusty has a spectacular aura aboutRusty has a spectacular aura about
Radio broadcasts, movies and television shows are good for listening to fluent language, but you can't press the 'pause' button and figure out the things you're missing. DVD movies, MP3s, CDs and podcasts come with the 'pause' feature, so they're better, at first. But I think the very best way for you to beef up your listening skills is to find some hispanic friends that will allow you the luxury of true listening during a dialog. Don't be afraid to just repeat what you're hearing, in the form of a question. The native speaker will give you a reassuring nod that you're picking up on things.