Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Grammar

When to use "a" with "mirar"?

This is the place for questions about conjugations, verb tenses, adverbs, adjectives, word order, syntax and other grammar questions for English or Spanish.

Old June 27, 2011, 03:02 AM
Opal

Native Language: English
Christoferus is on a distinguished road
When to use "a" with "mirar"?

I'm a beginner at Spanish, and I'm having trouble with the word "mirar", meaning "to watch" or "to look at" (I presume). I've seen it used both with a the preposition "a" proceeding it and without the preposition "a". My question is when should I use "a" after any form of "mirar"? Here are some examples I've found of "mirar" in use.

Sentences with "a" after "mirar"

They watch their children.
Miran a sus hijos.

He looks left and right.
Él mira a la izquierda y a la derecha.

Sentences without "a" after "mirar"

The cat watches the fish.
El gato mira el pez.

They are watching T.V.
Están mirando televisión.

So is there a rule? Are they interchangeable? Please correct me if any of my information is incorrect. Any further details about the word "mirar" would be much appreciated!

Last edited by Christoferus; June 27, 2011 at 03:11 AM.

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old June 27, 2011, 03:28 AM
Señor Speedy

Native Language: American English
Rusty has a spectacular aura aboutRusty has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christoferus View Post
I've seen it used both with the preposition "a" following it and without the preposition "a". My question is when should I use "a" after any form of "mirar"?

Sentences with "a" after "mirar"

They watch their children.
Miran a sus hijos.

He looks left and right.
Él mira a la izquierda y a la derecha.

Sentences without "a" after "mirar"

The cat watches the fish.
El gato mira el pez.

They are watching T.V.
Están mirando televisión.