Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Culture

Suggestions about Spain

Questions about culture and cultural differences between countries and languages.

Old June 08, 2008, 06:57 PM
Opal

Native Language: English
sknepper is on a distinguished road
Suggestions about Spain

Hi guys,

I'm going to Spain in a week to study in Valencia for the summer, and was wondering if anyone from Spain had any suggestions that would be useful. Specifically what the dress is at clubs, should I get a eurail pass, is there anything I have to see, how/if you tip at restaurants, or any other cultural things that you think might be helpful.

Thanks a ton and I really appreciate it!
I'm a spanish student, and I really want to try and engulf myself in the Spanish language as much as possible, so please correct my Spanish on any post or tell me how it could better be said so that I can improve! Thank you!!

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old June 08, 2008, 07:17 PM
Davidísimo

Native Language: American English
Tomisimo will become famous soon enoughTomisimo will become famous soon enough
Well there's a few folks from Spain here, so they would be the right people to answer this. Let's wait and see what they have to say.
Old June 09, 2008, 01:12 AM
Emerald

Location: Where the stork dropped me years ago, wish it had done it further north
Native Language: nominally:Spanish, emotionally:Engl
Iris is on a distinguished road
I'm sorry but I've never been to Valencia, so I cannot help much. I can only answer one of your questions. We do tip in restaurants in Spain. We also tip cab drivers and hairdressers, but only if we feel like it. And you can tip as much or as little as you want.It depends on the quality of service, your generosity...
Old June 09, 2008, 01:14 AM
Ankh-Morpork's citizen

Native Language: Spanish (Spain)
sosia has a spectacular aura aboutsosia has a spectacular aura about