Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Teaching and Learning Techniques

Some good ways to learn Spanish

Teaching methodology, learning techniques, linguistics-- any of the various aspect of learning or teaching a foreign language.

Old September 09, 2009, 02:08 PM
Emerald

Native Language: inglés y español).
Villa is on a distinguished road
Some good ways to learn Spanish

I was a Spanish bilingual teacher for 23 years teaching SSL as well as ESL. Then I taught high school Spanish for 7 years as well as working as a sub after retirement in high school Spanish classes. At night I taught ESL to Spanish speaking adults for 15 years. Right now I'm in my 4th year teching Italian to adults.

At any rate in order to learn Spanish or anyother language the most important thing you need is "ganas." That desire to learn. Take learning Spanish as a fun hobby and you'll do just fine.

Some of the best ways of learning Spanish are:

1. Read Spanish out loud. You have to go back and take a whole new look at oral outloud reading. Think about it. When you're reading Spanish outloud you're speaking Spanish and you never run out of something to say.

2. Get audio books on CD in Spanish and listen to them constantamente.
Listen them in your car, at home, while walking or riding your bike.

3. Watch Spanish TV novelas. Novelas have all the words that go with all the human emotions. I noticed that I learned more Spanish in a few weeks from watching Spanish novelas than from months and years of just trying to learn Spanish. Movies and TV programs in general are good to watch in Spanish.

4. Make flash cards with you Spanish vocabulary. Take your flash cards with you everywhere you go. Make them your constant friends with you everywhere. Take them out frequentemente and study them.

5. Carry a small bilingual Spanish dictionary with you everywhere you go and study it todo el tiempo.