Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Culture

Linguistic States - India

Questions about culture and cultural differences between countries and languages.

Old October 06, 2010, 03:05 AM
Diamond

Native Language: Español
irmamar is on a distinguished road
Linguistic States - India

Maybe Raji or somebody who knows something about India can tell me what Linguistic States are. I'm studying linguistic situation in India (not in depth) and the book says that in 1956 Linguistic States were formed. I understand that it must be a kind of administrative division, depending on the distribution of the spoken languages, but I'm not sure.

The book also says that there were a great effort to substitute English with Hindi, but they were not able to detach it from English, so it was adopted as the second official language. Why weren't they able to do it? Were English so spread that everybody used to speak English?

Thanks.

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old October 06, 2010, 05:36 AM
rule 1: gravity

Native Language: English
poli will become famous soon enoughpoli will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmamar View Post
Maybe Raji or somebody who knows something about India can tell me what Linguistic States are. I'm studying linguistic situation in India (not in depth) and the book says that in 1956 Linguistic States were formed. I understand that it must be a kind of administrative division, depending on the distribution of the spoken languages, but I'm not sure.

The book also says that there were a great effort to substitute English with Hindi, but they were not able to detach it from English, so it was adopted as the second official language. Why weren't they able to do it? Were English so spread that everybody used to speak English?

Thanks.