Old August 03, 2012, 03:04 PM
Opal

Native Language: English / Ingles
RagamuffinRyan is on a distinguished road
New to spanish

Hi , I'm Ryan
I've been interested in learning a language for a long time but it seemed almost impossible for me.

I have been in a long term relationship now with a spanish girl
(ella de mallorca, I hope thats right, i started learning 5 days ago )
which does help with the learning process.

I have just recently started, I tried rosetta stone peviously and found it wasn't much good.

I am currently doing about an hour of pimsleur a day starting 5 days ago and am finally making some progress, any suggestions ontop of this to help my learning would be greatly appreciated, i think i should be doing more.

I joined the forum in hope i could find solutions to my language problems here instead of pestering my girlfriend or her father for help.

I am also interested in looking for a spanish speaking partner from Spain to skype with.

I'm hoping i'll continue to make steady progress.

Thanks,
Ryan

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old August 03, 2012, 04:40 PM
Sapphire

Native Language: US English
wrholt is on a distinguished road
Welcome to the forums, Ryan!

Having a Spanish girlfriend is certainly a good motivator for starting to learn Spanish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagamuffinRyan View Post
(ella es de mallorca, I hope thats right, i started learning 5 days ago )
You were close, and you did well for having started learning Spanish only 5 days ago.

Learning with Pimsleur is as good a method as any to start learning speak and listen to Spanish. An hour a day is a good amount, especially if you're also working a job or studying other subjects too.