Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Teaching and Learning Techniques
Register Help/FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search PenpalsTranslator

Taking the next step, beginner to intermediate

Teaching methodology, learning techniques, linguistics-- any of the various aspect of learning or teaching a foreign language.

Old June 29, 2013, 02:45 AM
Opal

Native Language: English
SteveB is on a distinguished road
Taking the next step, beginner to intermediate

Hi all, not sure if this is the right place to put this but here goes.

I have been learning for about 9 months now and feel im not getting any further. If i use beginner books and cd's i go over and over the same thing

Tener, querer, hola, adios etc etc

So when i try intermediate it seems way out of my league. Its almost like it skips a whole section each time.

For example, i listen to 'coffee break spanish' podcast, which is great. I was learning alot from them and each time they start a podcast they say something like
" estoy lista Cara? , Sí, estoy lista para aprender español con coffee break spanish!"

Which i understand, then in a few episodes they throw in , ya, se, le que, lo and dont explain it, or how to use it. I look these things up but they totally throw me!

Can anyone recommend how to take a step up? Or any beginner/intermediate books or podcasts?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old June 29, 2013, 05:18 AM
Diamond

Native Language: Inglés (en-gb)
pjt33 is on a distinguished road
I expect an admin will move this to "La enseñanza y el aprendizaje" forum.

Language learning levels have been standardised within the EU. There are two beginner levels (A1 and A2), two intermediate levels (B1 and B2), and two advanced levels (C1 and C2). You might be skipping from A1 to B1. Check whether your books state their level.