Old April 16, 2014, 05:08 PM
Opal

Native Language: Midwestern American English
Haven is on a distinguished road
Should I learn a native accent?

Hi all,

I just have a few questions.

I'm starting to learn Spanish (again, I studied it in high school but have forgotten nearly all of it), and I've heard different things from different people about native accents. Some people have said not to emulate native speakers' accents, but to concentrate on pronouncing things correctly and being understood. Others say to attempt a native-like accent and try to eliminate any English influence.

I've always agreed with the second camp and have wanted to speak like a native, but I realize that might not be possible or even desirable, especially for someone at a beginner's level with the language.

What do you guys think? Is it worth it to attempt a native accent, or should I just concentrate on speaking the language clearly and acquiring decent vocabulary, grammar, and so on. Thanks!

-Haven

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old April 16, 2014, 06:11 PM
rule 1: gravity

Native Language: English
poli will become famous soon enoughpoli will become famous soon enough
My advise is to concentrate on learning the language. Concentrating on accents may be putting the horse before the cart. There is a time when you build you vocabulary and learn the grammar and you will speak the language. Around that time it's good to focus on pronunciation, at which time the standard Latin American Spanish may be a good one to emulate. It's the way many well educated people speak or strive to speak. It's the kind of Spanish often spoken on CÑN or by actors in telenovelas, and it is devoid of local idiocincracies.

If you fall in love with Spanish or Argentine culture, then you may want to focus on using those accents. If you plan to stay in the States, however, standard Latin American Spanish is best to focus on.
Old April 16, 2014, 06:15 PM
Señor Speedy