Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Teaching and Learning Techniques

I have hit the wall...

Teaching methodology, learning techniques, linguistics-- any of the various aspect of learning or teaching a foreign language.

Old October 09, 2008, 10:07 AM
Pearl

ElDanés is on a distinguished road
I have hit the wall...

Hello!

I've been learning Spanish for now about two months, and I have felt like I always had something to do. Lots of grammar to go through. I have learned to conjugate and use verbs, adjectives, nouns and much more, but I find it hard to actually use all this, like in a real conversation. I only know the theory.

I don't know anyone who speak Spanish, or who I could talk to in real life about Spanish, and when I'm on the internet I find it hard to jump into a Spanish conversation/discussion, like here on Tomísimo.

Do you have any suggestions?

I have thought about starting watching Spanish movies (with or without subtitles?), but I don't know how effective this is? I have also thought about just using my Spanish, no matter how bad it is, and let you guys correct me. How effective would this be?

I will start having Spanish at my school after Christmas, so I believe it will become a bit easier to find something to do with Spanish at that time, but till then, what should I do? I have really hit the wall.

Thanks in advance.

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old October 09, 2008, 10:14 AM
Ruby

Native Language: English
geeper is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElDanés View Post
I have also thought about just using my Spanish, no matter how bad it is, and let you guys correct me. How effective would this be?
This is what I have done and I feel it has helped me a lot. We are quite lucky to have people on these forums who will take the time to explain things.
Old October 09, 2008, 10:21 AM
Diamond