Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Teaching & Learning > Teaching and Learning Techniques

So how long have you been studying your "new" language?

Teaching methodology, learning techniques, linguistics-- any of the various aspect of learning or teaching a foreign language.

Old December 03, 2009, 01:25 PM
Ruby

ItsThaMonsta is on a distinguished road
So how long have you been studying your "new" language?

I have been studying for 4 months. And in these 4 months I can easily say I have learned a lot more than if I had taken Spanish classes for 1 hour a day over a couple years. I don't plan to do too much more "studying" of the Spanish language. I went through both Rosetta Stone and Pimsleur. I learned a lot but it is time for more advanced stuff. What I mean by that is actually trying to keep myself around spanish. I have to learn think and speak faster.

It is too many people who have been studying for years and are still not fluent. I am going for rapid results.

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old December 03, 2009, 02:14 PM
Diamond

Native Language: Castellano
chileno is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsThaMonsta View Post
I have been studying for 4 months. And in these 4 months I can easily say I have learned a lot more than if I had taken Spanish classes for 1 hour a day over a couple years. I don't plan to do too much more "studying" of the Spanish language. I went through both Rosetta Stone and Pimsleur. I learned a lot but it is time for more advanced stuff. What I mean by that is actually trying to keep myself around spanish. I have to learn think and speak faster.

It is too many people who have been studying for years and are still not fluent. I am going for rapid results.
Then, transcribe a novel in Spanish to English. Make it a point to speak aloud what you are translating.