Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > The Tomísimo Lounge > General Chat

South American Dialects - easiest for learners?

Talk about anything here, just keep it clean.

Old August 28, 2013, 09:12 AM
Opal

Native Language: British English
Withnail is on a distinguished road
South American Dialects - easiest for learners?

¡Hola!

I'm new here so please forgive me if this question has been answered before.

Next year I am lucky enough to have the opportunity to take a career time-out. I'm quite new to learning Spanish but I plan to go to South America for 6-12 months, take Spanish lessons, and immerse myself in the language.

I am trying to decide which country to go to. My current shortlist is Argentina, Chile, Peru or Uruguay. I have heard different opinions on how 'clear' the Spanish dialect spoken in these countries is. So, for those who have experience in South America, do you have views on which of these countries has clear, or not-so-clear, dialects / accents that would help or hinder an inexperienced learner?

¡Muchas gracias!

Withnail

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old August 28, 2013, 09:34 AM
Emerald

Liquinn3 is on a distinguished road
I'd suggest Argentina. How come you want to go to there and why not Spain?

Sadly, I'm only going to Barcelona for three weeks and two days next year.
Old August 28, 2013, 09:38 AM
rule 1: gravity

Native Language: English
poli will become famous soon enoughpoli will become famous soon enough
Well spoken Peruvian accents are nice and staccato. They are perhaps easier to understand than accents from other countries. Don't confuse accents with dialects. Uruguay has a dialect which combines Spanish with Portuguese that I have heard in movies filmed there, but Spanish is definitely the official language. Buenos Aires and Montevideo share a nice