Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Vocabulary > Idioms & Sayings
Register Help/FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search PenpalsTranslator

To let the cat out of the bag

An idiom is an expression whose meaning is not readily apparent based on the individual words in the expression. This forum is dedicated to discussing idioms and other sayings.

Old November 27, 2010, 07:26 AM
Opal

bwriter is on a distinguished road
To let the cat out of the bag

I am a writer. I have written 7 or 8 novels, all of them, as yet, unpublished although I have self-published 3 of them. My latest novel includes two characters who are from Minorca.
Felipe is around 30 years old. He has a slender moustache and a broken nose. He is capable of murder.
Maria is around 25 and is beautiful with olive-shaped eyes and black, lustrous hair.
I need to have them speaking English but with a Spanish accent and I have tried to use little inflections to remind the reader that the person speaking is Spanish.
My immediate concern is this: I want Maria to confess to someone, 'The cat is out of the bag.' Meaning, Okay, you have found me out.
How do you say this in Spanish?
Thank you in anticipation.

Last edited by Rusty; November 27, 2010 at 08:29 AM. Reason: removed mention of web site

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old November 27, 2010, 08:27 AM
Señor Speedy

Native Language: American English
Rusty has a spectacular aura aboutRusty has a spectacular aura about
Look here.
You can find a lot of idiomatic expressions on our site by clicking 'Idioms' on the menu bar and then by performing a search on the home page.
For example, I used 'bag' to find the expression you were looking for.