Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Grammar

Ser, Estar, AR, ER, IR

This is the place for questions about conjugations, verb tenses, adverbs, adjectives, word order, syntax and other grammar questions for English or Spanish.

Old January 27, 2009, 02:05 PM
Opal

DaveG is on a distinguished road
Ser, Estar, AR, ER, IR

I am just starting to learn spanish and already having a tough time. What is all this Verb stuff in laymen terms? I mean Ser verb Yo Soy = "I AM" but Estar verb Estoy = "I AM" as well and what about these AR,ER and IR verbs?

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old January 27, 2009, 02:26 PM
Diamond

Native Language: I can understand Spanish and English
CrOtALiTo is on a distinguished road
Firstly, I bid you welcome.

Now it come the explication above your question.

Ser- To be
Estar- Are, Is first person and second person also in third person.

The endings Ar, Er, Ir, they only are endings of verbs or words, for example, eat (Comer), Go (Ir), To be (Estar).

I hope you can understand me.
Old January 27, 2009, 02:37 PM
Diamond

Native Language: American English (Northeastern US)
laepelba is on a distinguished road
As an English speaker learning Spanish, Dave, I also say "welcome!" o, "Bienvenido!" You will find the people here to be EXTREMELY helpful, patient, and SOOOOooo encouraging!!

It has helped me to understand that the verb "ser" typically indicates a more permanent condition. Like "Yo soy de Buffalo, New York." It means that I am from Buffalo, NY - which can never change. It's a permanent thing about me.

But "estar" is a temporary thing. For example, "Yo estoy leyendo un libro." It means that I am reading a book. I obviously don't have a book surgically attached to my hand. I am only reading it right now. So it's temporary.