Spanish language learning forums

Spanish language learning forums (http://forums.tomisimo.org/index.php)
-   Translations (http://forums.tomisimo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Making a "to do" list (http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?t=2988)

laepelba February 04, 2009 07:52 AM

Making a "to do" list

I'm a lists person. I know this isn't an anonymous support group. I just needed to get that out there so that there's no doubt as to this short-coming of mine. :)

Anyway - I want to start substituting Spanish words in my lists where I can to help myself become more at ease with the language. So today I'm making a to-do list for after work (I'm a teacher) this afternoon.

If I'm writing a verb on my to-do list, do I use the imperative conjunction - second person singular? For example, would I write: "compra almuerzo para escuela (inclusive manzanas)" ??

poli February 04, 2009 08:06 AM

What you write is acceptable. Everyone has their own style. I would use the infinitive: comprar instead of compra because it is a to do list.

laepelba February 04, 2009 08:09 AM

OH!! That makes a LOT of sense. "TO do". :) What would you call a "to do" list in Spanish?

poli February 04, 2009 08:41 AM

One way to say it is una lista de hay que haceres

laepelba February 04, 2009 09:11 AM

I have to admit that that's WAY too many words for me ... I can't see replacing "to do list" with "una lista de hay que haceres". Hmmmm..... what about "lista a hacer"?

Rusty February 04, 2009 09:22 AM

lista de cosas por hacer
lista de quehaceres

Both work.

chileno February 04, 2009 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by laepelba (Post 25072)
I have to admit that that's WAY too many words for me ... I can't see replacing "to do list" with "una lista de hay que haceres". Hmmmm..... what about "lista a hacer"?

Hi,

Although, "una lista de hay que hacer" to me sounds literally:

a list of there is must have's :-)