Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Grammar
Register Help/FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search PenpalsTranslator

The Imperfect Subjunctive

This is the place for questions about conjugations, verb tenses, adverbs, adjectives, word order, syntax and other grammar questions for English or Spanish.

Old May 23, 2012, 05:37 AM
Opal

Native Language: English/Inglés
Zahara is on a distinguished road
The Imperfect Subjunctive

I'm currently studying the imperfect subjunctive. I understand that there are two alternate endings (-ra, and -se), and I would like to know which one is the more prominent form, and the general usage of one or the other. I apologise if this has been asked before.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old May 23, 2012, 05:55 AM
Diamond

Native Language: Inglés
Perikles is on a distinguished road
I am repeatedly told that the two forms are totally interchangeable. Maybe there are stylistic variations, but I'll let others deal with that.
Old May 23, 2012, 06:13 AM
Opal

Native Language: English/Inglés
Zahara is on a distinguished road
Like perfect synonyms? That's interesting.
Old May 23, 2012, 07:55 AM
Sapphire

Native Language: US English
wrholt is on a distinguished road
According to some grammars, the -se form historically is the past subjunctive, while the -ra form was an indicative tense whose use has shifted over the centuries to be an equivalent of the -se form as a past subjunctive.*

(*Edit: Perikles rightly points out that I recalled the historical details incorrectly.)

Today as subjunctives the two forms are interchangeable. However, according to some grammars the -ra form is more common everywhere, continues to grow in popularity, and in some regions is used almost exclusively.

Some grammars claim that the -ra form has a few indicative uses that it does not share with the -se form.