Ask a Question

(Create a thread)
Go Back   Spanish language learning forums > Spanish & English Languages > Vocabulary
Register Help/FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search PenpalsTranslator

Soy vs Estoy vs Tengo - is this correct?

Ask about definitions or translations for Spanish or English words.

Old January 27, 2013, 11:55 AM
Opal

Native Language: English
Tara is on a distinguished road
Soy vs Estoy vs Tengo - is this correct?

I'm fairly new to Spanish and have been working on understanding the correct ages of Soy, Estoy and Tengo.

As far as I understand:

Tengo is an irregular usage, generally meaning "I have" but used where I might assume "I am" would be used, such as "tengo frio" (I am cold). These don't really have any rules but just have to be memorized. Is this correct? Does anyone have or know of a list of times when "tengo" is used?

Soy is used to described what something is, more of a "permanent" state of something (or at least not as impermanent as something like emotions). Its more along the lines of "this is who I am". Such as "Soy de Las Vegas." But why is it sometimes "soy" and sometimes "yo soy"?

Estoy is used to described how or where something is, the condition in that moment or the experience of that moment. It's the more impermanent qualities of something, along the lines of "this is where I am/what I'm experiencing right now". Is "yo estoy" ever used (and if so when and why)?

Please correct anything or clarify anything you see or think I may be misunderstanding. I appreciate it!

Get rid of these ads by registering for a free Tomísimo account.
Old January 27, 2013, 12:50 PM
Emerald

Native Language: inglés y español).
Villa is on a distinguished road
ú
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tara View Post
I'm fairly new to Spanish and have been working on understanding the correct ages of Soy, Estoy and Tengo.

As far as I understand: